You are facing North-EastClick to save this page as a bookmarkClick to go to Canterbury Tour MapClick to Search the Tour PagesClick to go the Canterbury Web site to find more information on the cityClick for the home page of the Host siteClick to turn roundClick to move to next page
The Borough
Archive
2005
1996

The Borough
(Photo 1996)

The imposing exterior of the Kings School glooms over us at this point. The archway in the wall in the centre of the picture is an old bricked up gate, known as the Mint yard gate. The yard that used to be behind the gate was formerly the Almonry yard of Christ Church Priory. The gate gets its name from a mint that coined money for the Crown between 1540 and 1550.

Behind the gate in recent times was the Gymnasium of the Kings School. This was converted to classrooms in 1993.

Press for ReportReports from the Canterbury Archaeological Trust



The Canterbury Tour, a unique virtual walk around this ancient city Peter Collinson
This page last changed on 7th September 2008.
Photograph August 1996. © Copyright Peter Collinson, All rights reserved.