You are facing North-WestClick to save this page as a bookmarkClick to go to Canterbury Tour MapClick to Search the Tour PagesClick to go the Canterbury Web site to find more information on the cityClick for the home page of the Host siteClick to turn round
The End of St. Dunstan's Street
Archive
2005
1996

The End of St. Dunstan's Street

On the left here is St. Dunstan's Church, housing the head of Sir Thomas More, that Man for All Seasons. The head was recovered by Margaret Roper, his daughter, from a spike on London Bridge and brought to its last resting place here in 1535.

Straight ahead is the brick building that was Pointer's Hotel, but has been converted to flats in the winter of 2005. On its right is the road out to Whitstable and the north Kent Coast. The road in front of Pointer's Hotel is known as the London Road and was the start of the main road from Canterbury to London.



The Canterbury Tour, a unique virtual walk around this ancient city Peter Collinson
This page last changed on 7th September 2008.
Photograph April 2005. © Copyright Peter Collinson, All rights reserved.